MotherStucker Pinsomnia

Despite the fact I’m familiar with many of the cutting-edge social media technologies, I am often hesitant to adopt them because I’m already too busy with blogging, Twitter, Facebook and my iPhone.  However, my latest obsession Pinterest.com has surpassed them all – and believe me, that’s really saying something. It’s more than a site, it’s a lifestyle.  My husband would say an addiction.

I’ve gone from being a bored cook to being constantly inspired to try the onslaught of new, fabulous recipes.  The endless barrage of crafts and styless motivate me to action and I am completely addicted to the fashion/beauty section where I have found a collection of the most innovative, creative and accessibly stylish offerings on the Web that are updated every second.  But, I’m getting ahead of myself here. If you’re not familiar, here are a few basics.

What is Pinterest?  According to Pinterest’s “About Us” page, it is a virtual pin board — a place where you can create collections of things you love and “follow” collections created by people with great taste. People use Pinterest to collect and share all sorts of things — recipes, holiday ideas, travel, crafts, kid’s activities. You name it, people are pinning it.

How do you get a Pinterest invite? Why are invites to Pinterest even necessary?  If you ask me for an invite by email, I’ll send you an invite (motherstucker@gmail.com)! Warning: it might take a few days, but I’ll get to it, I promise!  Why is Pinterest registration by invite only? I honestly don’t know. That’s the way they want it, so that’s the way it is. It can be all very Zen if you think about it the right way.

Why I love it:  I am a visual creature and my computer’s bookmarks just don’t cut it. The process is simple: if you see a Web site you like, simply copy-and-paste the URL. Or, if it is already on Pinterest.com, simply “repin.”

What should you pin on Pinterest?  Think of your Pinterest boards as if they were actual 3D inspiration boards.

What is it that is beautiful to you? What do you dream of having, seeing, doing, hearing, reading, wearing? What is that you want to remember and come back to? Pinterest is all the best about inspiration bulletin boards combined with all the best of social book marking. Let that premise guide you as you pin.

How much does it cost to be on Pinterest.com?  This is a very good question.  Since Pinterest is free to use, and there are no ads anywhere, one has to wonder – how are they making any money to keep the site going?  The site says they are “well-funded by a group of successful entrepreneurs and investors”. Since advertising would really spoil the spirit of grass roots community and sharing that Pinterest is clearly cultivating, I wouldn’t be surprised to see them go the other direction and introduce subscription fees somewhere down the line. Perhaps the site will be free just long enough to get everyone hooked.

I could go on but the important thing is for you to get on Pinterest.com. Rumor has it there is a waiting list to join (a testament of its popularity).   Happy pinning and follow my boards at https://pinterest.com/christystucker/  (But don’t say you haven’t been warned….).

Leave a Reply

